the_other_side_of_everything

THE OTHER SIDE OF EVERYTHING

A DocHouse First Film
Dir: Mila Turajlic
Serbia / Qatar / France / 2017 / 104mins

In Belgrade, an apartment is divided in two by a door, which has been permanently locked for over 70 years. The apartment, which was divided on the order of Yugoslavia’s then communist government, is where director Mila Turajlic’s mother was born, and where Mila grew up herself.

Throughout civil war, the breakup of Yugoslavia, aerial bombardments and revolution, the door has never been opened. Mila’s mother, Srbijanka Turajlic, who was a prominent political activist and leading player in the revolution, still lives in just one half of the apartment. Moving back and forth between the personal and the political, this richly textured film is at once a poem to the filmmaker’s mother, a renowned activist and professor, and a portrait of life in Belgrade following the turbulent break up of the former Yugoslavia.

The London Premiere on Wednesday 7th November was followed by a Q&A with director Mila Turajlic. 

Book Tickets

Date: Wed 7 Nov 2018 - Wed 21 Nov 2018
Price: Regular PEAK £9 (£7 CONCESSIONS) / OFF PEAK £5
Monday 12th November
14:00
Tuesday 13th November
18:30
Wednesday 14th November
16:00
Thursday 15th November
20:30
Friday 16th November
16:20
Tuesday 20th November
21:00
Wednesday 21st November
14:20

PLEASE NOTE: THERE WILL BE NO ADVERTS PLAYED BEFORE FILMS IN THE BERTHA DOCHOUSE SCREEN. ALL FEATURES WILL START PROMPTLY FOLLOWING A SELECTION OF TRAILERS.

WINNER: Best Feature Documentary - IDFA 2017
NOMINATED: European Parliament LUX Prize 2018